You are here

Joy Division

Joy Division Music Button Museum
Additional Images: 
Joy Division button back Music Button Museum
Text on Button: 
joy division
Image Description: 

Black text on a white background

Back Style: 
The Shape: 
The Size: 
Additional Information: 

Joy Division was an English rock band that was active from 1976 through 1980.  The band consisted of vocalist Ian Curtis, guitarist and keyboardist Bernard Sumner, bass player Peter Hook, and drummer Stephen Morris.  They were originally named Stiff Kittens, then changed their name to Warsaw, and finally became Joy Division before recording and releasing their first 7" EP "An Ideal For Living" in 1978.  Joy Division's debut album, Unknown Pleasures, was released in 1979 to critical acclaim. 

Following troubles with grand mal seizures, depression, and other contributing personal factors happening in his life, Ian Curtis committed suicide in 1980.  Two months later the band released their second album, Closer, an album widely regarded as a landmark release of the 1980s post-punk music scene. 

After the suicide of Ian Curtis, the band was renamed to New Order, following a pact between all four members that should any member 'leave', the remaining members would change the name of the group and continue making music.

Catalog ID: 
Share with your friends: